The Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic awards the Otto Wichterle Prize to selected, exceptionally high quality and promising scientists of the CAS who have contributed outstanding results to the development of scientific knowledge, hold scientific ranks or titles (CSc., Dr., Ph.D., DrSc., DSc.) and are no older than 35 years of age in the calendar year of submission. The Czech Academy of Sciences Institutes directors submit proposals for the premium award after consulting their respective institute Councils. During the past 22 years, a total of 22 young scientists from the Institute of Microbiology of the Czech Republic have been awarded the Otto Wichterle Prize. Only in five years (2006, 2011, 2012, 2015, and 2018) the Institute came up empty. In 2023, Dominika Luptáková and Jaroslav Semerád received this prestigious academic award. We extend our warmest congratulations and note that Dominika Luptáková is the sixth laureate of the Otto Wichterle Prize and, at the same time, an alumnus of the Laboratory of Molecular Structure Characterization (113).

The recipients from the Institute of Microbiology (lab 113 in bold): Josef Komenda and Vladimír Havlíček (2002), Marek Šinkora (2003), Michal Koblížek and Petr Baldrián (2004), Petr Novák and Petr Halada (2005), 2006 no one, Tomáš Cajthaml (2007), Radim Osička (2008), Petr Man and Michael Volný (2009), Marek Kovář (2010), 2011 and 2012 no one, Miroslav Kolařík (2013), Petra Procházková (2014), 2015 nobody, Pavel Hrouzek (2016), Zdeněk Kameník (2017), 2018 nobody, Tomáš Větrovský (2019), Petr Kohout (2020), Petra Beznosková (2021), Martin Ezechiáš (2022), Dominika Luptáková and Jaroslav Semerád (2023).